We who believe in freedom
cannot rest until it comes.

Sandra _ KT.jpg

Our music


From basements to art galleries, the steps of the Supreme Court to the 11th St Bridge, the Decatur House to the Strathmore, SongRise inspires action through song. We sing about many causes close to our hearts, such as racism, sexism, LGBTQ rights, environmental conservation, and voting rights. Our repertoire draws from the rich legacy of Sweet Honey in the Rock and the outrage of Pussy Riot.  We sing the words of civil rights legends, Grammy award winners, and pop idols.

  • A Change is Gonna Come – Sam Cooke (arr. Lauren Petters-Collaer)

  • Behind the Wall – Tracy Chapman (arr. Mackenzie Howard)

  • Brave & Roar mashup – Sara Bareilles, Katy Perry (arr. Katie Thatcher)

  • Bread and Roses - James Oppenheim & Mimi Fariña (arr. Noel León)

  • Breathe Fire (Song for Bhopal) - arr. Noel León and Rebecca Fahrer

  • Breaths – Sweet Honey in the Rock

  • City Hall – Vienna Teng (arr. Ethan Merlin)

  • Glory - John Legend & Common (arr. Mackenzie Howard)

  • Human – Dionne Farris (arr. Noel León)

  • I Can't Breathe - Pussy Riot, Delta Rae (arr. Katie Thatcher)

  • Imagine – John Lennon (arr. Emma Cassidy)

  • I'm Gon' Stand – Sweet Honey in the Rock

  • Mountain Song (based on Emma's Revolution song)  – Holly Near (arr. Laura Bellows)

  • Not by Might – Linda Hirschhorn

  • One by One – Lebo M

  • Peace Salaam Shalom (arr. Mackenzie Howard)

  • Rise Up - Andra Day, Lin-Manuel Miranda (arr. Ricky Jabarin)

  • This Little Light of Mine – Avis Burgeson Christiansen & Harry Dixon Loes

  • The Trilogy (Go Down Moses, Wade in the Water, Motherless Child) - (arr. Noel León)

  • We Shall Medley (We Shall Overcome and We Shall Not Be Moved) – African American civil rights song and spiritual (arr. Mackenzie Howard)

  • Woke Up This Morning – African American civil rights song

  • (I Can't Keep) Quiet - MILCK (edited by Noel León)

  • And more!